Recall audition – Man Met/MST and Drama Centre update

Hello!!

Guys I actually really enjoyed my Manchester School of Theatre recall – it was so much fun 😀

Contrary to the small numbers at my first round, the recall had so many more! Apparently Man Met (in some cases) now have a third recall which is new to their audition system. Meaning there are more people applying and therefore more competition – woo.

But anyway let’s get to the positive.

When I walked in one of the teachers caught my glance and smiled at me so I thought that she perhaps recognised me from last year!! And I began the day in a pretty good mood 🙂 So the day started with a fabulous group warm up. I say fabulous because it felt very Central esque. And if you’ve read my Central blog I’m sure you’ll understand because today there was A LOT of people. Holey Moley. We were asked to run around the space and because there was so many of us there I thought I was going to hit into someone!! But thankfully I didn’t. Others did.

We did other things as well like stretching and breathing into the body, I guess just to calm people’s nerves and get ready for the day. So then we were split into about 3 groups and we had 3 different morning workshops: movement, voice and speeches.

Firstly, I had movement and the lady was stressing ‘we’re not looking for dancers, we are looking for physically imaginative actors.’ Well. I thought, thank goodness, because I am not that brilliant of a dancer!! But I enjoyed the movement and I’m glad that was my first class because it really woke me up! ( I was so tired coming because I hardly had any sleep the night before from worrying 🙈) bit of a pointless worrier over here! The next class was voice and I really enjoyed that sesh! The beginning focused on just getting our voices out firstly! Then that developed into humming whilst shaking out parts of the body to allow the breath to drop down. We also worked on using movement as a way of finding and discovering new sounds and I found it quite interesting. We had to do this later individually, which required you to be really in the moment. The next sesh was speeches and I thought this went alright! Just 2 monologues again and a bit of redirection and then that was it. Pretty good.

After the morning workshops the course leader basically said you need to go away and have lunch for 50 mins while we talk about you! So yeah – more scrumptious, nail biting, waiting for drama school results. I actually had to nibble on the breakfast that I failed to eat in the morning because I was so nervous. It’s so odd I was so nervous for this audition and usually I’m completely cool and fine. But OH no, not today. After a few bites of my breakfast and after having the break we all made our way back to the main room to find out the result. Now, at this point the course director was explaining that some will be recalled to the afternoon sesh and some will not, but he said if you’re not asked back for the afternoon then it doesn’t necessarily mean you’ve been rejected! (Sounds very Central, tell me about it) but basically some people from that point could be asked for a 3rd recall on a different day (which was what I was trying to explain before) or be given an offer, or rejection. Still trying to figure that whole thing out but not to worry – I was recalled to the afternoon sesh, yay!!

Now if we take a blast from the past I was here last year. So, to be honest, I was feeling just a smidge of pressure, but mostly good feelings! There was 8 of us left and I was called up half way through to do my monologues in the round, full of teachers and the other auditionees. Scary. I did both my classical and modern and then they redirected my classical, making me do it in several different ways. When I sat down I felt like I really gave it my best go and I was happy with myself. Not in a narcissistic way but I was happy with myself because I had tried my best. After everyone had been up the course director said we will find out our result very soon!!!

Ah don’t you just love waiting.

I love it so much. Can’t you tell?

Actually on the thought of waiting I have news!!! So after four rounds of Drama Centre auditions I finally have a result…

 

I am on the waiting list for the BA Acting.

MORE WAITING GAHHHHHH

(There’s 16 places with only  8 slots for girls… trying not to cry) and they still have 1st round auditions all the way up in April and May!!

I honestly don’t know how I feel about this. Am I sad or happy? I just don’t know. But HEY it’s not a rejection – which is a good thing. So yeah, I’m happy I’m not rejected!!

Till next time,

AA x

(Aspiring Actress)

 

3 thoughts on “Recall audition – Man Met/MST and Drama Centre update

  1. Camellia

    Hi there, congratulations on getting on the DC’s waiting list! I understand it’s not ideal, but I think it’s still a fantastic result!

    Thanks a lot for documenting your experiences at drama schools! I’m travelling to London from New Zealand in a couple of days to audition too. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get audition slots at Central and DC due to my travel dates, but I’ll try to cover as much ground as possible at other schools. It’s great to get a preview of what’s waiting for me in London.

    Good luck with your remaining audition rounds! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Aspiring Actress Post author

      Hey! Thank you so much, what a lovely comment 🙂 And you’re most welcome, I really enjoy writing this blog so it’s a bonus that people like yourself are finding it useful! And good luck to you in your auditions 🙂 xxx

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

