Thoughts after the National Youth Theatre 2016

Hellooooooo WordPress 😘

Okay, don’t kill me, I know this has been a while BUT I’m back. Moving to London and beginning drama school has been insane and this is the first moment I’ve actually had to sit and write; so here we go.
The National Youth Theatre.

I don’t think I’ve ever met such like-minded, genuinely decent people in my life. I know that seems quite the compliment but I mean it.

We laughed, we cried, we raved, we danced, we wrote, we sung, we made stories and we all made really good friends. I bloody loved it and the people that I worked with just completely made it for me. Hands down. And now I am officially a member of NYT!!! 😀

The Trinity Laban halls turned out to be rather interesting… As in I AM GLAD TO HAVE EXPERIENCED HALLS BUT NEVER AGAIN.

Oh my.

I couldn’t sleep some nights because some rather vocal, alcohol abused 18 year olds had – oh you know – little parties at 3 am and I was SO cool with it.

Nah I’m exaggerating a little – halls wasn’t that bad, but it was nice to have had the experience. The utter joy.

The best thing at NYT for me was probably the sense of community that I left with at the end. Now I know that sounds disgustingly cheesy of me but alas, it’s true. There was this final moment on the last day where all of the courses sang a song on the field opposite Trinity Laban and it was the most uplifting experience. It’s just the feeling of togetherness that I loved and it really clicked for me that this really is the true National Youth Theatre: just being together as a company and doing what we love.

I really urge anyone who is just the slightest bit interested in having fun – audition for the National Youth Theatre! Trust me, you will not regret it.

If you don’t get in the first time: ‘fail again, fail better.’ (Beckett)

Thanks for reading 😎

AA x

(Aspiring Actress)

P.S having a BALL at LAMDA 🙂

One thought on “Thoughts after the National Youth Theatre 2016

  1. Connor

    Hello Aspiring Actress,

    I run a company called http://www.howtodrama.com which helps young students get into the very competitive Drama schools in the UK.

    I would very much like to feature you on our website and share any information that you may have about applying. We usually do a podcast with our guests where they can promote their blogs or products for free, but you may be more comfortable just writing a blog that we can feature.

    If you are available next week we can schedule a call and talk about what we may be able to organise.

    Sincerely,

    Connor

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

